How vintage do you wanna be? Aria Pro II Kight Warrior 80’s vintage Bucket List guitar content

3bolt79

Reaction score
So how vintage is vintage? Well, for guys my age, this is vintage. I'm 55 years old and I started playing in 1983. My first guitar was the entry level Ibanez Roadstar II RS 100, complete with plywood body and faux wood grain.

It also had the bridge mounted in the wrong place, meaning that the high E was always flat. There wasn't enough room to move the saddle toward the nut, before the saddle came undone from the adjustment screw.

There weren't really any guitars in my budget when I got my first one at the age of 13. Back in those days there were 2 music stores that sold electric guitars in my town. One that sold vintage and high end stuff, and a chain store called Music West. This was in Eugene Oregon. They had several though that I couldn't afford.

They had a green Ibanez RS430 which they had got in just in time for Christmas, which I couldn't afford because it was like $400 dollars (I finally got one during the Crud, and I will write about that guitar later).

After I had been playing and taking lessons for about six months, they got in an Aria Pro II Knight Warrior. Black and chrome. It looked killer. These came out in 1984, or at least they started running ads for them. Do any of you remember the ads?

Here’s a Screen Shot of one of the ads.

IMG_1026.png

You guys remember these?

Well, I was lucky enough to get one back in 2020, before the prices became ridiculous. The MSRP on these back in 84/85 was $399.00.

When I got mine, It was $429.00 including shipping. It's in excellent condition. It had one small chip of paint that I fixed with black super glue. Virtually no fret wear.

IMG_1012.jpegIMG_1011.jpeg